Friday, 31 December 2010

RL may be for losers...but every so often, it crits us all...

The title may not be too clear, but what im hinting at is that due to RL critting me for 9001, i've been fairly inactive in certain aspects of my game life lately. EVE has definitely suffered, and a lack of money (or rather, the fact i owe friends money - sorry trog :( ) means that 27d training times are on the menu whilst the corp relocation effort continues on it's steady pace.

Black Ops is also another victim. After hitting 1st prestige and getting through the ranks at a fair pace, I simply dont have the drive for more than a game or 2 when the rest of the guys are up for it, but overall, the Black Ops division is doing great with the servers being at capacity for much of the day, and a US Tournament Team in the works, with plans for an EU one. If you're interested, check out www.miaclan.net

However, one games loss is another's game. Or rather 2 games gain. With the go-ahead that MIA will be getting a minecraft server, we've been busy spending roughly 12 hours a day solid working on building the perfect towns, starting zones and a working theme park, along with all the mods (including customization and ironing out any conflicts - Thanks Top Cat :D). When it goes live, the server will have a working economy, quest givers and other NPC's as well as the ability to form your own towns, open-world PvP and also war-declarations between towns! Stay tuned for more info on that front.

The other game is WoW. The dreaded WoW. Just like most good MMO's, you never truly quit WoW, and i've proven that so. In a playtime of 2 days 6 hours, im currently at 69 on my new Goblin Warrior on Steemwheedle Cartel EU - home of the PC Gamer magazine guild. I got disenfranchised with the easymode that was introduced with WOTLK, but somehow, Blizzard seems to have fixed this feeling in me and turned me into a believer - again. *sigh* Raid tanking here i come....

Thanks :)

-Asylum/Senjo/Neat

Monday, 15 November 2010

Ze Germanz Invade! And not just in EVE...

It's happened. Sodalitas-XX has lost JEIV to Ev0ke, Ze so called Germanz of the title. However, we didn't just roll over and take it. Well, the rest of us didn't. College+EU tz sucks =/

After a great, fairly well balanced fight from both sides support fleets, they brought down the thunder....8 supercaps. *sigh* Still, a great fight all round. OY5JQ comes out tonight too....so, the battle continues.

But I did say not just in EVE....and this leads me to the new Call of Duty: Black Ops. There is only one word to describe this: Jizzworthy. There is no other. From a cold-war storyline involving brain-washing and some familiar faces, to fighting zombies in a 5-storey pentagon, to breaking out of the chair you sit in during the menu (qtf?!?!?!?!?) and playing either Zork (Use your google fu if you're not that old/geeky) or a top-down arcade style zombie shooter on a C.I.A computer. Could it get much better than this?? The answer is yes: Remote-Control Cars with C4 strapped to the back of then, and underslung flamethrowers. Wow.

Anyways, till next time :)

-A$ylum/Senjo

Tuesday, 13 July 2010

Crippling Blows and a Silver Lining

On Thursday the 8th I was assaulted by 5 guys in an attempt to take my phone and am now on crutches. And that should be a bad thing. It sorta is.

But the title of this post is Crippling Blows AND a Silver Lining, i hear you say?

Well through a combination of blackmail and guilt tripping, i managed to get my old second account back up, and a month long plan will have one of my chars in a Gank Tempest to help me burn my way through Sanctums/Havens in part of my godly (Read: Doomed) attempt to gather enough isk for the skillbooks to fly a carrier. An awesome corp member has already bought my the carrier and is giving it to me for free as soon as i have the major skills to 4, and combine this with a few lucky sales and the stupid amount of time i have to play EVE now, those skillbooks are getting ever closer :)

On the CoD4 side of things, me and a few clanmates have recently been having friendly competitions on who could get the most knife kills in a game. I thought i was l33t at this, with my record being something like 67. However, [MIA] Panos recently trashed this with over 100. Curse you -.- If anyone's interested in the clan, check: www.miaclan.net for more info!

So not much game related, no rant, just a sort of update.

And a thankyou to everyone who asked how i was, and a huge thanks to Daz for buying me the carrier i thought i'd never get. You guys give me faith in humanity once again :D

-Senjo Ling/A$ylum

Wednesday, 5 May 2010

Ratting - Why PvP is for sissies.


There's a simple reason why Ratting is more dangerous than 90% of PvP in EVE. It's not because people don't pay attention to local (This has been my downfall twice), or even that people forget about it whilst alt-tabbing, or even that PvPing involves actively seeking a fight.



I'll sum it up in this simple formula:

EVE + PvP = Blob or Hide, where said blobbing/hiding can be found using:

Fleet size x Balls
Enemy fleet size x Balls

If we put into this equating the massive LACK of balls in most of the EVE community, this practically makes PvP the safest occupation in EVE. In fact, my biggest losses in this game have been from ratting.

So my advice to all you carebears out there?

Put down the Hulk, GTFO of the L4's, anoms and belts, and go grab a Salvaging Destroyer and take it along to your next roam. Because you'll be safer and earn more money salvaging whatever 1 in 100 things you kill than carebearing.

Because carebearing sucks.

-Senjo

(P.S, if you are a miner and feel that most of this doesn't apply to you; Dude, you're a miner, need i say more -.-)

Friday, 30 April 2010

Becoming French - For when the shit hits the fan

Recently, my alliance (and indeed half of providence) invaded PXF due to them pissing someone somewhere off, but that doesn't matter.

What does matter is that on the second day, we got pwned. Hard. Harder than the BoB failscade. Harder than even the goon failscade. But did we run? No! We stood our ground and fought valiantly. To the death. Charge of the Light Brigade shit right there huh?

Well, i think it's times like this we should take a tip from the French. If in doubt, retreat. Or if your ep33n doesn't allow retreat, tactical withdrawal. Because when the losses run into the billions, possibly someone somewhere should've probably gone: "I wonder if we should have gone home....."

On another note i hit a new record last week in losses. 250m in the form of:

A Dramiel lost in a roam to Agony space. Getting camped in by CVA didn't help either :(

(Loss ~120m)

A ratting Megathron lost to a Fagabond (don't ask -.-)

(~100m)

An ishkur due to fail intel

(~30m)


My tip to anyone reading this?

Fuck how much your ships costs.

Losses due to PvP: 250m
The price of the sheer awesomeness encountered in fleet: Priceless.

There are some things money can't buy.

For everything else there's podkilling.

-Senjo





Tuesday, 6 April 2010

Smacktalk - For when ratting is just not enough

Smacktalk. A fun and relaxing way of being a douchebag. And yet so many do it (including myself) and I know I for one cannot control it.

So why do we do it? Well, for one it's a way of waving your ep33n in front of someone's face. Another is to give shits and giggles. But let's examine the role of smackers within EVE.

Ep33n:

These are the guys that get you angry if you're the opponent. They rile you up, make you annoyed and generally be douche's, but they're easily dealt with (by podding)

Shits and giggles:

Much harder to deal with. Some of the shit these guys come out with is unbelievable, and makes even Archiebald Hornby (search him up) cringe. They generally have NOTHING better to do as shown by the current example within my alliance: a 1 man ALLIANCE war deccing us.....

TBH, these are the guys that make EVE what it is. Do you really remember the epic fleet fight where everyone said GF afterwards? Or do you remember that time you went on a speed roam in enemy territory and the smack going back and forth more than made up for the fact you all got podded.

Yes, EVE may have massive fleet on fleet engagements, but these turn into lagfests so....
Yes, EVE may have the awesome market supposedly run by an economist, but in the end it's still not priced right so.....

So, that means that the one TRUE thing EVE is really, deep down at the heart of it, what EVE is really about.

Is smacktalk.

-Senjo

Monday, 19 January 2009

Sovereignity - What a bitch.

Sovereignity. Sounds cool huh? Systems to call your own, your name in the stars, awesome ratting, the list goes on.

And well, yeah, the rewards ARE pretty damn cool. But DO NOT log on EVE if you have ANYTHING you need to do in RL whilst your alliance is taking sov.

A quick rundown of how new sov taking works:

1: Attackers deploy Sovereignity Blockade Units. You need to cover more than half the gates with these :)

2: You then pew the IHUB and Outpost into reinforced.

3: Wait for reinforced timer to come out at some ungodly hour of the morning,

4: Repeat Step 2

5: Repeat step 3

6: Repeat step 2.

7: Deploy TCU (Territorial Claim Unit).

8: Gz, you now have sov.


This sounds like im ungrateful, im not, i love this space that was so warmed for us by STEEL and -7-, and no doubt the building of outposts and that for them must've been harder, especially as they had to gain their sov through the old PoS system.

But seriously guys, if you're interested in taking sov, make sure you can make a bubble around yourself for 2 weeks in which RL cannot touch you. Because if not, you may find yourself playing EVE every hour, of every day, till you find work in McDonalds...

Fly safe :D

-Senjo/ASylum